| 
        
          | 
              
                | T O P I C    R E V I E W |  
                | trhxke | Posted - 03/25/2008 : 12:09:53 PM This question came up last night in 8 ball.
 
 When the table is considered "open" is it OK to intentionally shoot and hit the 8 ball 1st and make another ball into pocket and thereby claiming either solid or strips?
 
 Tom Hardinger
 Eight Ball 6 & Nine Ball 8 playing like a 7
 The BAT-Forum
 BigRigTom on My Space
 BigRigTom's Blog
 Big Rig Toy Store
 Your Internet Source for pool cues, cases, table accessories, darts and various collectibles.
 |  
                | 4   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First) |  
                | EatGolf | Posted - 03/27/2008 : 02:47:29 AM So if your opponent breaks and doesn't make anything; it is okay while the table is open for your first shot to be a combo of solid to a stripe to claim stripes - but not okay to go eightball to stripe combo... the eight ball is never neutral.
 
 
  |  
                | trhxke | Posted - 03/25/2008 : 4:24:00 PM 
 quote:[i]Originally posted by Taz[/i]
 [br]No, it is not okay.
 
 Although the rule book does not specifically cover this exact questions, there are a couple of refences that do apply.
 
 1) After the Break, Page 46(e), which in part reads "....Now the breaker has the choice.  He may shoot any ball except the 8-Ball...." and
 2) Fouls, Page 49(b), which in part reads "....The 8-ball is not neutral...."
 
 
 
 
 
 Cool Taz,
 One of my team mates ask me this last night and I told him the 8 ball is not neutral on an open table but then I started second guessing myself and I could not remember why I thought the 8 ball was not neutral.
 Thanks for clearing that up.
 
 Tom Hardinger
 Eight Ball 6 & Nine Ball 8 playing like a 7
 The BAT-Forum
 BigRigTom on My Space
 BigRigTom's Blog
 Big Rig Toy Store
 Your Internet Source for pool cues, cases, table accessories, darts and various collectibles.
 |  
                | Taz | Posted - 03/25/2008 : 4:19:35 PM No, it is not okay.
 
 Although the rule book does not specifically cover this exact questions, there are a couple of refences that do apply.
 
 1) After the Break, Page 46(e), which in part reads "....Now the breaker has the choice.  He may shoot any ball except the 8-Ball...." and
 2) Fouls, Page 49(b), which in part reads "....The 8-ball is not neutral...."
 
 
 |  
                | jackmurray | Posted - 03/25/2008 : 1:27:16 PM Hey Tom here's my view on this one.... I don't think there's anything (specific) in the rules on this but:
 
 If the player breaking pockets a solid and a stripe (or any combination there of) the table is considered "open" and the player ("breaker") has his option of shooting either solids or stripes. He/she may not hit the 8-Ball first because that would be a foul.
 
 If logic works at all here I would have to say it would be a foul for the next shooter as well.
 |  |  
 |