South Coast APA Message Board
South Coast APA Message Board
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 South Coast APA
 Rules Discussion
 Calling a foul

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!


* Forum Code is OFF
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

Check here to subscribe to this topic.

T O P I C    R E V I E W
aqati Posted - 12/21/2011 : 11:14:27 AM
Recently, while watching my teammate play a match, I noticed that his opponent didn't hit a rail after their missed shot (object ball came up short). I am the co-captain (I do not think it matters, but just in case). I asked "is that ball in hand?" One of their higher skill level players said that I cannot say anything. According to that person, ONLY my teammate playing may say something. I do not believe this to be correct, but I am not sure.

Am I allowed to say something?
5   L A T E S T    R E P L I E S    (Newest First)
aqati Posted - 12/26/2011 : 2:01:19 PM
So anyone on the team may may suggest. Thank you for the clarification Phil and Taz.
Phil Posted - 12/23/2011 : 08:06:45 AM
Coach as in coach. You haven't been around long enough to remember when you had to declare a coach at the beginning of the match and that person was the only one who could coach you during time outs. Now, that part of the sentence is obsolete, since anyone could be the coach during a time out. The important part is "anyone may suggest".

aqati Posted - 12/22/2011 : 11:09:36 PM
Coach as in captain or coach during a timeout (thinking captain, but want to make 100% sure)? If the captain, does this exclude co-captain?
Taz Posted - 12/22/2011 : 04:25:37 AM
Official Team Manual (page 49) 10.Fouls

".....Only the player or the coach may officially call a foul, although anyone may suggest to the player or the coach that a foul should be called...."
Showtime Posted - 12/21/2011 : 1:17:15 PM
I may be wrong too, but I agree with you. If the shooter agrees, then ball in hand. If the shooter disagrees, then no ball in hand.

Yes, you have the right to ask. They may assume you know it is ball in hand and your player may take the shot from where it lies. What would this captain say if you asked, "who is solids?" Clarification never hurts. Again, I may be wrong too.

If I disagree with you, it is because I am right.

South Coast APA Message Board © 2007 South Coast APA Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.05